Sharon Warburton Wins "Mentor of the Year Award" – Congratulations!

Published: 26/02/2015

Women in Leadership Winners | 2015 NAB Women’s Agenda Leadership Awards

The winners of the 2015 NAB Women’s Agenda Leadership Awards were announced at a luncheon in Sydney today in front of a sold out audience of more than 400 women and men, including guest speaker, former Prime Minister The Hon. Julia Gillard.

Leading the 2015 crop of emerging female leaders were entrepreneurs Nikki Jurcutz and Simone Kain,’s Lauren Williams, Airservices Australia’s Linda Spurr and Hamlin Fistula Australia’s Lucy Perry. Already all leaders in their respective fields, they were each recognised for demonstrating talent and a capacity for driving change within their organisations, and for fast becoming prominent and visible leadership stars.

In the categories recognising the men and women who help women achieve, Sharon Warburton was named 2015 Mentor of the Year for her work mentoring young men and women in mining, ProfessorJulie Bernhardt was named Change Champion of the Year for her leadership in medical research, and Tracy Howe was named Agenda Setter, for her work raising awareness of domestic violence.

Sharon Warburton served as Group General Manager of Strategy and Operations at Brookfield Australia Investments Group (formerly Brookfield Multiplex Limited) until September 30, 2008. Prior to this Ms. Warburton serves as an executive director of strategy with Brookfield Multiplex. She has held senior finance roles at Citigroup an Rio Tinto. She served as Chief Planning and Strategy Officer of ALDAR Properties and previously held a variety of senior executive roles roles with Brookfield Multiplex, Group General Manager of Mergers Acquisitions and Operational Support and Group General Manager Strategy and Operations. She has been Non Executive Director at Fortescue Metals Group Limited since November 13, 2013. She is a Charrtered Accountant.

See below for the full list of winners and finalists

See it online