2016 WIRNA Finalists Announced

Published: 29/07/2016

The 2016 Finalists

Twenty four individuals and five companies from the Australian resources sector have been selected as finalists for the 2016 Women in Resources National Awards (WIRNA).

The finalists will be celebrated and winners announced at the 2016 Women in Resources National Awards presentation diner proudly hosted by The South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy (SACOME).

The event will be held at the Adelaide Convention Centre on Thursday 1 September 2016.

WIRNA is a partnership between the Minerals Council of Australia and its Northern Territory and Victorian branches, CME, the Queensland Resources Council, the New South Wales Minerals Council, the South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy, and the Tasmanian Minerals and Energy Council, with support from various state Women in Mining Network branches.

The 2016 finalists are:

Excellence in Diversity and Performance

  • Fyfe Pty Ltd – Diversity and Flexibility Strategy (SA)
  • Darwin Sparkettes (NT)
  • Aurizon (QLD) – Targetting 30% women by the end of the decade
  • BHP Billiton Nickel West – Job Sharing in Senior Leadership (WA)
  • McCullough Robertson – Inclusion and Diversity Strategy (NSW)

Gender Diversity Champion

  • Mr Adam Lancey
    Manager Logistics and Transformation
    BHP Billiton NSW Energy Coal
  • Ms Leigh Richardson
    Human Resources Lead, GEMCO and TEMCO Operations
  • Mr Chai McConnell
    Principal Consultant
    Advisian Pty Ltd (part of Worley Parsons Group)
  • Mr Michael Schoch
    General Manager – Crux Project
    Shell Australia Pty Ltd
  • Ms Kate Hobbs
    Senior Consultant
    First Principles Consulting
    SA (joint winners)
  • Ms Lucy McEwen
    General Manager, Property Services
    Fyfe Pty Ltd
    SA (joint winners)

Exceptional Woman in Australian Resources

  • Dr Andrea Marsland-Smith
    Executive Manager & Manager – Regulatory & Compliance/Government Relations, HSSE, Logistics
  • Ms Rae O’Brien
    Group Manager Technical Services (South)
    Glencore Coal Assets Australia
  • Ms Andrea Sutton
    Chief Executive and Managing Director
    Energy Resources of Australia
  • Ms Cecile Wake
    Growth Director
  • Ms Claire Negus
    General Manager Commercial
    Roy Hill
  • Dr Sandra Close
    Founder and Director
    Surbiton Associates Pty Ltd
  • *TAS

Exceptional Young Woman in Australian Resources

  • Ms Jasmine Richards
    Senior Environmental Advisor
    Oz Minerals
  • Ms Katie Manns
    Scheduling Engineer
    Newmont Mining Corporation
  • Ms Dannielle Dendle
    Engineering Project Specialist – Modifications and Small Projects and Engineering Controller Projects
    BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance Peak Downs Mine
  • Ms Megan Kline
    Superintendent Mining Production
    BHP Billiton Iron Ore
  • *TAS
  • Ms Phillipa Salm
    Production Supervisor at Mount Thorley Warkworth Coal & Allied
    Rio Tinto

Outstanding Australian Tradeswoman, Technician or Operator

  • Ms Samantha (Sam) Seib
    Mine Services Team Supervisor
    Glencore McArthur River Mine
  • Ms Kristy Hasting
    Operator – Grader and Haul Truck
    Thiess Australian Mining
  • Ms Esther Bruce
    Electrical and Instrumentation Technician
    CMOC-Northparkes Mine
  • Ms Marianne Finch
    Dragline/Dozer Operator
    BHP Billiton Mitsubishi Alliance Saraji Mine
  • Ms Yvonne Fahey
    Fleet Management System Business Lead, and Technology Advisor
    Alcoa of Australia, Huntly Bauxite Mine
  • *TAS

    *Tasmanian state Awards winner are not available until after 22 July 2016.