Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Embedding Gender at the heart of Responsible Mining

Date: June 23, 2020

Time:
10:00 – 11:30 UTC+2 (Geneva, Johannesburg)
16:00 – 17:30 UTC+8 (Beijing, Hong Kong, Perth)
18:00 – 19:30 UTC+10 (Melbourne, Port Moresby)

Webinar registration: click here

Organiser: RESPONSIBLE MINING FOUNDATION

The presence of mining companies can heighten gender inequalities within the affected area. Mining companies not only have a responsibility to ‘do no harm’ in this respect, but also have an interest in enabling women and girls to fulfil their potential and have access to actively participate in socio-cultural life and in the development of the local economy.

By embedding gender at the heart of their activities, mining companies can show they follow the Gender Guidance for the Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights that calls for the “integration of gender equality as a cross-cutting issue in all policies, processes and strategies across all departments, rather than treating it merely as a diversity or inclusion issue relevant only for the human resources department.”

Representatives from different stakeholder groups will share reflections on the impacts of mining on women, the main challenges and the opportunities for continuous improvement.

Speakers:
– Lydia Nkopane, National Union of Mineworkers NUM (South Africa)
– Prabindra Shakya, Indigenous Human Rights Defender – CEMSOJ (Nepal)
– Vanessa Baudin, Development Gateway (Senegal)
– Daria Goncharova, Polymetal (Russia)
– Jennifer Rietbergen-McCracken, Responsible Mining Foundation (Switzerland)

Moderator:
– Prof. Surya Deva, Associate Prof. at the School of Law of City University of Hong Kong & Member of the UN Working Group on Business and Human Rights
Time

Details

Date:
June 23
Time:
10:00 am - 11:30 am SAST
Event Category:
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
Subscribe to our newsletter