Nominations for the 2015 WIM Canada Trailblazer Award are now open!  

For decades, women have contributed to the mining and minerals industry of Canada.  Through leadership, education and innovation, these women have opened doors for more women to participate in one of Canada’s most vital sectors. The Women in Mining Canada Trailblazer Award is the first national award in Canada to recognize the achievements of women who have made a significant contribution to Canadian mining and/or the inclusion of women in the industry.

Past Recipients

The 2014 recipient of the WIM Canada Trialblazer Award was Maureen Jensen
The 2013 recipient of the WIM Canada Trailblazer Award was Samantha Espley
The 2012 recipient of the WIM Canada Trailblazer Award was MaryAnn Mihychuk

The WIM Canada Trailblazer Award Program

The purpose of the award is to bring national recognition to women in mining in Canada.  By honouring these women we hope to:

*  Draw attention to the important role women have in the industry
*  Encourage young females entering the industry by presenting them with female role models
*  Share success stories from these women of varied backgrounds

WIM Canada formed an independent “Trailblazer Award Selection Committee” (TSC). The TSC has been mandated by the WIM Canada Board to shape a nomination and award selection process. The committee received valuable feedback from our WIM Branches members during the award process last year. As a result this year the Nomination Criteria and Guidelines, see attached, has been revised to broaden industry sector categories to fully represent areas where women may work in the Canadian Mineral Industry.
The TSC will report back to the WIM Canada board on progress and selection of the final award winner for 2015 which will be revealed at the WIM Canada International Reception at the PDAC conference this coming March.
The 2015 TSC has been active over the last few months and consists of the following leaders in the Minerals Industry in Canada, many of whom you may know. We thank them for generously donating their time to this initiative:

Lynda Bloom, Chair – President of Analytical Solutions Ltd. (P.Geo.)
Marilyn Spink, Vice-Chair & Secretary – Principal & Independent Advisor at GS Group (P.Eng.)
Kate Bruce – Program Coordinator/Professor – Mining Engineering Technician/Technology Program Cambrian College of
Applied Arts and Technology
Lyn Anglin – Consultant (PhD, P.Geo.)
Andrea Clifford – Project Coordinator and Communications Manager, Geoscience BC (P.Geo.)
MaryAnn Mihychuk – President of Corporate Relations Services (P.Geo.)
Dr. Jean Hutchinson – Professor and Department Head of Geology at Queens University (Ph.D., P.Eng., FEIC)
Pamela Schwann – Executive Director, Saskatchewan Mining Association
Charmaine Gazdic – Vice-President, Group Sales & Consulting – Schuster Boyd McDonald and WIM Canada Director
Liaison to this committee.

See the Nomination Criteria and Guidelines here.

The WIM Canada Trailblazer Award Statue

For this special award, WIM Canada commissioned the first ever limited edition statue of a women miner to physically represent the Award.
The artist Tyler Fauvelle sculpts in clay, and is well-known for his mining works of art in a style that blends realism with impressionistic aspects for each truly unique piece.
The beautiful craftsmanship of the artist in this special piece is sure to be treasured by Award Winners for years to come.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.